h1

10

March 16, 2008

 

their fire
and
light
incandesce
my essence

burn deep
my soul

trouble
my spirit

unsettle
my being

ignite
my wonder

whet
my
seeker’s vessel
with need
to be
filled full

at once
familiar

yet
exotically foreign

strange

wrongly boxed
but
exquisitely
wrapped

in angst
indignation
longing
discovery
loss
love

with all these

and
infinitely more

they reach
to a hollow place
deep within

echoing
my past

awakening
my myths

exposing
that which
I embrace
in the moment

as truth

stirring my pain
my anger
my loneliness

my hope

offering
just enough answer
that I combust
with questions

sacred uncertainties

I’m held
suspended
in inquiry

in memories
of neverwas

enrapt
by your
careful words

transfixed
by mystery

elevated
by insight

impaled
by vision

spellbound

 

22 comments

  1. i don’t know how you do it with this your line length of choice… but dang.. you do do it!!!!! this was stellar!!!!


  2. Very nice, great compression – agree with Paisley – also some wonderful lines like: “awakening my myths,” and “impaling my vision.” I’m left wondering who “they” are, though, and would really like to know.


  3. your emotion is touching, paisley

    WDS


  4. mystery & wonder are the gist

    ‘careful words’ is the clue, richard

    WDS


  5. Shoot, I’m lousy at riddles – a bit of a failing for a poet, but there you have it.


  6. I think my favourite image must be “I combust with questions.”

    A great write!


  7. Richard, the ‘they’ referred to in #10 are = poets

    WDS


  8. Marvellous, I get it, I combust with questions too, so clever!


  9. I love that “but exquisitely wrapped”.


  10. Loved this from start to finish, exquisite indeed!

    PS: Love your header.

    http://www.mypoeticpath.wordpress.com


  11. I, too, love the ‘exquisitely wrapped’ – a lovely write!


  12. sometimes, word cannot tell what it is mean to be evil.


  13. Love these lines at the end:

    ‘elevated
    by insight

    impaled
    by vision’

    Yes, a very minimal format but you deal with large concepts within that framework. Fearless.


  14. it is lovely in the format… you have covered our emotions in a kaleidoscope of emotions.. it is truly poetic and wonderful…


  15. My appreciation grey.

    WDS


  16. Don’t we all. Merci, red.


    WDS


  17. …in gratitude, granny

    WDS


  18. That’s gratifying veggie.

    WDS


  19. Danke tw.

    WDS


  20. Amiene you lost me.

    WDS


  21. Big needs only minimum help to be seen julia.

    WDS


  22. i love “wrongly boxed but exquisitely wrapped”

    !!



Leave a Reply

