h1

12

March 28, 2008

 

a lightless
void
of
soundless
vacuum

spinning
masses
of
revolving
orbs

hurtling
fragments
in
crystalline
vapors

molten
cores

mingled
gasses

dead husks

black
holes

a
frozen
dance
of chaos
on the
tentative
edge
of balance

attractions
and
repulsions
of precarious
fragility

magnificent
obscurity

unquenchable
wonder

unrealized
dreams

untethered rubble

relativity’s
fabric
tangled
in the cloth
of
time

reality’s
illusion
set in
fantasy’s
foundation

the ultimate
frontier

unfounded
fear

hope
adventure
catastrophe

humankind’s
triumph
and
sad folly

the
seductive
promise
of
a future

our
salvation

infinity’s
threshold

the eternal
question

the elusive
answer

the
everlasting
bastion
of
never-ending
truth

a
constant
listening

a
longing call

home of
the
gods

the
fountainhead
of myths
religions
and other
odd
superstitions

a reason
why

a source
of
mystery
font of
knowledge
cause
of
fiction

Heinlein’s
cathedral

the unknown
of
the
unknowable

ever
expanding
everything

and

nothingness
absolute

…space is

 

25 comments

  1. Space is… Your images evoke the infinite and the sense of wonder it inspires.


  2. wow… this really dragged me in,, and you know i had to wait till the very last line tobe sure where you wee dragging me!!!! i just love the way you position the words… it is like a rope ever pulling me along……


  3. when I read this, I gradually sped up and spoke louder and I pretended there was creepy music in the background.

    interesting.


  4. Space ‘is’, indeed.


  5. You certainly have a talent for minimalism with maximum strength. Nicely done!


  6. Male Scorp to male scorp, Sedona fan to Sedona resident, Fitzgerald’s Homer fan to (I assume) Fitzgerald’s Homer fan: well done. Gorgeous website. “Clean,” as Terence McKenna would say. Peace.


  7. you have expanded my consciousness..!!


  8. Powerful lines that quite match the subject. Very nice!


  9. Spaced out by your verse!

    😀


  10. Spectacular. “Space is” is wonderful.


  11. Very thoughtful images! Like paisley, I also like the rope of your words!


  12. Quite the long plummet through space, I thought. 😀


  13. Kept me going back and forth. Listening carefully to your words. Still thinking about it.


  14. Yes it is all that! And perhaps even more!
    Well done!


  15. Thanks for the visit and your comment. I liked your post very much, especially this part:
    a
    frozen
    dance
    of chaos
    on the
    tentative
    edge
    of balance


  16. This is truly wonderful! My absolute favourite part was “magnificent obscurity” — gave me shivers.


  17. the unknown of the unkowable …interesting


  18. Beautiful. I kept re-reading it several times over, just enjoying the images you’ve evoked. Ingrid already highlighted my favorite stanza, but I also liked

    reality’s
    illusion
    set in
    fantasy’s
    foundation


  19. wow! this was so well done!
    Yes that is space!


  20. A very imaginative poem. Good word choice.


  21. ever expanding everything balances nothing absolute perfectly.

    love the cummings quote too…


  22. “untethered rubble” really got me! So many elegant phrases…


  23. That was brilliant. I had to come back to your site three time before I realized it wasn’t a blank page and there was no error – the text was to the left — the pacing, fluidity and vibrancy of the words was wonderful. Thank you.


  24. In space NO one can hear you scream.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog.


  25. It doesn’t get much more beautiful than this:

    Like a freight train:

    “attractions and repulsions of precarious fragility”

    …oh my dear tounge, don’t cramp up on me,…gotta catch the next stanza unfaltered!

    LOVED IT! 🙂



Leave a Reply

