h1

23

November 14, 2008


the voice

grating
wafer thin
brittle
as a bone

transduced
solid-state
decreeing
we
should all
atone

a self-righteous
sanctifier
self-serving
frightened
liar

testifying
to the rotten lot
it’s been
dealt
in life

the sorrow
and
the strife

poor
pitiful victim

how unfair

like
that’s unique

like
I should care

I don’t
you don’t
they won’t

nobody
will
that’s
the thing

‘cause we
got our own
sour song
to sing

got our own
shit
sandwich

I sure as hell
got mine

my own
cry for sympathy
my wail of misery

I want
to cram
your ears
with
all my pain

wedge it
into your
blessed brain

wrap it
round your
sin-cleaved soul

shove it
up your
sainted hole

I bitch
so
you will know
the raw deal
that I got

do you
think
that I hear
you
sorry
I do not

I hear
my voice
I feel
my pain

do I feel
you

fuck no

your suffering
makes me
feel
better

better
than you
you
worthless fool

that is
what
I really think
and
it makes me feel
— GREAT!

superior
to you

you feel
the same way
too

you know
damned
well
you do

you feel
better
when I’m down

you crave
my pathetic story
in all
its twisted
glory

you
empathetically
bemoan it

’cause
you’re
too damned
scared
to own it

because
if you do
if I do
we’d have
to face
what’s
really true

we
are all
truly alone
in this
overwhelming
world

and that’s
so damned
terrifying

all of
life
is mystifying

so

we take
turns
testifying

pretend
to listen

act like
we care

we don’t

we’re too
preoccupied
with dying

 

this representative work of fiction was inspired by a readwritepoem prompt

• digital art above, entitled “po po me”, created by the author

 

7 comments

  1. Raw is good. Becos the fear is very elemental….

    illuminated fear susurrates


  2. Whoa! Caustic and vitriolic, raw and truthful.

    -Nicole


  3. gautami – raw and primal felt right to vivify this brute dehumanizing fear

    WDS


  4. nicole – generally not me, but I have unfortunately inhabited this person in times of deep depression

    WDS


  5. Sounds like a couple of people I know! But you write it so well, I can smell the fear!


  6. that
    we
    are all
    truly alone
    in this
    god-forsaken world

    and that’s
    too damned
    terrifying
    to accept

    so

    we pretend
    to listen

    to care

    — been this. have done this. can understand this.

    Know that it can change.


    • but it does not

      WDS



Leave a Reply

